Written by on 16/12/2021

Source – NTNEWS

THE Territory Government has backed down on its plan to restrict arrivals to the Territory to just Darwin, Katherine and Alice Springs.

Under what deputy chief minister Nicole Manison called “modest” changes, travellers will only be banned from the 66 remote communities that have vaccination rates below 80 per cent.

Ms Manison said the government had had “positive productive discussions” with industry groups as well as community leaders.

“We have been able to make some modest changes that should make a big difference,” she said.

The changes will keep people in work and businesses open while keeping the Territory safe, Ms Manison said.

When asked why the government didn’t consult with industry and community leaders before making the drastic rule changes last week, Ms Manison said the government had not stopped consulting throughout the pandemic.

“We have listened to that immediate feedback and we have made modest changes,” she said.

“I think we could have gotten some elements better, that’s for sure.”

NT travel exclusion zones

You cannot travel to an exclusion zone for 14 days after your arrival in the NT. Exclusion zones are designated as more vulnerable because of their current vaccination rates.

Exclusion zones are communities that have a full vaccination rate of less than 80 per cent for residents aged 5 years and over. They do not include service centres.


  • Angurugu
  • Galiwinku
  • Gapuwiyak
  • Gunyangara
  • Millingimbi
  • Ramingining
  • Yirrkala
  • Marthakal Homelands
  • Laynhapuy Homelands


  • Robinson River
  • Numbulwar
  • Kalkaringi
  • Lajamanu
  • Yarralin
  • Barunga
  • Bulman
  • Jilkminggan
  • Manyallaluk
  • Minyerri
  • Ngukurr
  • Urapunga
  • Wugularr (Beswick)
  • Mataranka *


  • Peppimenarti
  • Nauiyu (Daly River)
  • Belyuen
  • Wadeye
  • Julanimawu (Nguiu)
  • Palumpa
  • Warruwi
  • Gunbulanya
  • Maningrida
  • Minjilang


  • Amunturrngu
  • Titjikala
  • Nyirripi
  • Ntaria (Hermannsburg)
  • Watarrka
  • Engawala
  • Ti Tree*
  • Ikuntji
  • Pmara Jutunta
  • Wallace Rockhole
  • Atitjere
  • Imanpa
  • Kaltukatjara
  • Bonya
  • Laramba
  • Papunya
  • Tara
  • Aputula
  • Wilora
  • Yuelamu
  • Yuendumu
  • Willowra
  • Kintore (Pintupi)
  • Mpwelerre (Santa Teresa)
  • Mutitjulu
  • Utju


  • Elliott *
  • Ali Curung
  • Canteen Creek
  • Alpurrurulam
  • Epenarra
  • Ampilawatja
  • Urapuntja

*People can utilise the rest rooms, service stations, roadhouses, pubs, restaurants and accommodation facilities in these exclusion zones but cannot visit the adjacent vulnerable communities


Exclusion zones do not include service centres and roadhouses as they provide essential functions as key hubs within the NT. You may travel to and enter service centres.

  • Yulara
  • Alice Springs
  • Tennant Creek
  • Borroloola
  • Nhulunbuy
  • Katherine
  • Jabiru
  • Adelaide River
  • Bachelor
  • Darwin

For people who live or work in remote communities that don’t have high vaccination rates, they’ll still be allowed back into their communities.

Those travellers will have to have a negative Covid-19 PCR test in the 72 hours.

They’ll also need to take a PCR test in the 72 hours after arriving in the NT, in either Darwin, Katherine or Alice Springs but will not have to wait for a negative result before they travel to their remote community.

They must wear a mask for the seven days after their arrival in the Territory and essential workers will have to have a daily rapid antigen test for those first seven days as well.

“They live there, they work there, they belong there, they can go home,” Ms Manison.

“These changes also make sure that workers and family members, including returning students, can be together over the Christmas period.”

For those living on stations unable to access a PCR test on day six of their arrival in the NT, they’ll be allowed to get a rapid antigen test instead.

Other travellers who don’t live or work in the remote communities are not allowed into the exclusion zones unless they are stopping for a short period at a roadhouse on a major highway.

While stopped, they must physically distance and use the Territory Check In app.

Continue reading

Territory FM

Darwin's Greatest Hits

Current track